One good turn deserves another

1280px-Colourful_shopping_carts

I visited the supermarket this morning and as I approached the door with its compliment of shopping trolleys I recalled the last time I visited. After unloading my trolley into the car I pushed it across the car park towards the trolley rack with the intention of retrieving my coin which is held captive as an incentive to return the trolley and lock it up again to stop it being abandoned at some far corner of the planet. That day I saw two blokes looking quite puzzled as I approached the rack. Both were tapping their sides, searching their pockets for a coin in order to release one of the trollies from captivity. Seeing their dilemma I offered them my trolley which they accepted with thanks.

The thought of that incident had only just crossed my mind as I approached the rack of trollies with the intention of feeding another coin into a waiting cart when a kind gentleman rolled up from behind with a trolly and said “Here you go mate.” and with that, left the trolley in my hands and headed across the car park.
Of course a cynic  would say it was a coincidence.

Image source:http://www.flickr.com/photos/alphageek/121953651

Leave a comment