My First Time

 

Image

My skin tingled as I turned and caught sight of how beautiful she was for the first time. The full moon, yellow and enormous, poking a curious eye over the horizon as if to say, “I see you.”

As I stood high on the Brown Street steps watching, the experience brought new emotions to the surface I had not experienced before. Although living by the beach, it was the first time I had seen a moon rise and this moon rise was a beauty.

Its huge yellow face peeked over the horizon. An enormous yellow orb with its familiar ‘man in the moon’ markings winking a knowing wink at me.

I stood there basking in the emotion until I was late for my appointment and hurried in the opposite direction while looking over my shoulder for any glimpse I might catch through the trees and houses of this delightful new acquaintance I had just made.

Later that night I tried to find that friendly floating orb that was winking at me from the horizon only to discover it had returned to its familiar lunar appearance and place in the sky. It’s ageless countenance illuminating the domain over which it glides. No longer paying me the close attention it had earlier in the day. The moon was busy being the moon again.

Leave a comment